How to Eat Kale

Let me tell something to you.

(Name that movie)

Kale is delicious.

Oh yes. That freaky leafy green vegetable that your boyfriend’s uncle puts in scary green smoothies. That’s the one. It is so good.

If you don’t like kale, you’re probably not smothering it in bacon. Which, in my opinion, is the best way to convince people that they like vegetables. Sure, they might just pick out the bacon and eat that, but that bacon was touching a vegetable and that is totally half the battle.

I think.

I eat kale pretty much any way I can get it. I can only get two basic varieties of kale at my grocery store. You can probably get more if you live in a city like Vancouver where people pride themselves on eating the freakiest of vegetables. I can get Lacitano kale, also known as black or Tuscan kale, and regular curly kale. No matter what, you will be able to find curly kale anywhere you go.

These two varieties of kale are pretty different. Black kale cooks quickly, and when raw smells like green, if green had a smell. Curly kale takes longer to cook but is best for making crunchy kale chips.

The more you know!

If you’ve never eaten kale before, I demand you try this recipe. If you don’t like it, I’ll make you a maple bacon doughnut. Promise.

Kale and Bacon saute

2 strips of bacon, sliced into small pieces

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

1 bunch blake kale, ribs removed and thinly sliced

1/2  lemon

salt

In a large pan over medium heat, fry the bacon until it’s semi-crisp. You don’t want flabby bits but you also don’t want it to be completely crisp. If you have an excessive amount of bacon fat, drain enough to leave you about a tablespoon of fat in the pan. Throw in the garlic and red pepper flakes and cook for one minute. Toss in the kale, stirring to coat the leaves in bacon deliciousness. Cook for 3-4 minutes, until the kale is tender. Squeeze over as much or as little lemon as you like (about a tablespoon is good for me). Season with salt to taste.

This could be a side for two people but I usually eat the entire pan myself, it’s that good.

Leave a Reply

