Whole Wheat Chocolate Banana Bread

The healthy part of this banana bread came about by accident. Meaning I started making banana bread and then realized that I was completely out of white flour. Saved by the single healthy baking ingredient in my cupboard.

I haaaaate whole wheat flour in desserts. It’s just so clunky and it tastes of health. The last thing I want to think about when I’m shovelling the fourth brownie into my mouth is my health. I know it’s not good for me THAT’S WHY I’M EATING IT  LIKE IT’S MY LAST MEAL.

So in times like this when I’m forced to use moderately healthy ingredients in something I consider a dessert (sorry to ruin banana bread for you, it’s totes unhealthy in the most delicious way) I try my best to cover it in chocolate. This banana bread looks like a chocolate loaf of sin, and it totally is. Colin, who is totally meh about chocolate, loves this.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Banana Bread

10 tbsp plus 1 tsp butter at room temperature

1 cup mashed banana, about 3 medium bananas

1/2 cup sour cream

3/4 cup sugar plus 2 tbsp

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup chocolate chips or chopped nuts

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grease your loaf pan with 1 tsp butter.

In a large bowl, combine the mashed bananas, butter, sour cream, eggs, vanilla and sugar. Mix until thoroughly combined.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Mix this into the banana mixture until just combined. Fold in the chocolate chips or nuts. Pour into your prepared loaf pan and bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

