Yeah….About Lent

I failed miserably. MISERABLY.

First of all, who gives up sugar the day before Valentine’s Day? Not a very smart person, that’s for sure. What do you tell the new girl at the office who brings you a cupcake she baked just for you? “Sorry, you’re gonna have to eat that yourself, I’m pretending to be a good Catholic at the moment.” No, you eat it in front of her and envision yourself circling the first level of Purgatory.

And then Colin got me Ferrero Rocher chocolates for Valentine’s Day and by then I was already damned, so yes, I ate them.

And then I made an apple coffee cake without thinking.

And then today I made grapefruit cupcakes because when I ruin something, I like to completely destroy it.

For those of you who have willpower, how do you do it? I probably should have been more specific and just given up chocolate. Or frosting (don’t judge me).

Ah well. I haven’t had syrup yet, so maybe all is not lost. I could give up syrup. Or powdered sugar? Or agave syrup? Yup, that’s it. I’ll give up agave syrup.

Leave a Reply

