The Best Pulled Pork in the Oven

Ohhhh my goodness. I have officially perfected pulled pork in the oven. Bow down before me.

I usually throw a pork shoulder in the slow cooker and just let it go. But I find it doesn’t really develop the delicious crunchy bits that I like in a pulled pork sandwich. When it comes to pork, I’m all about the crunchy bits. So when I know I’m going to be home all day, I throw that baby in the oven.

IMAGINE IF I HAD A BARBECUE. The things I would do to pork.

So here goes my fool proof delicious oven roasted pork shoulder:

Pork Rub:

1 tbsp smoked paprika

2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp coriander

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp salt

1 5lb boneless pork shoulder

1 cup barbecue sauce (I like Sweet Baby Ray’s)

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

Preheat your oven to 275 degrees. If your pork has mesh netting around it, remove it. Thoroughly dry the pork shoulder with paper towels and place in a roasting pan. Combine the barbecue sauce and vinegar and set aside.

Whisk the spices, sugar and salt together in a bowl. Generously rub the pork shoulder with the rub on all sides. Pour 1/4 cup of water in the bottom of the roasting pan and place in the oven. Cook for 6 hours, basting the pork shoulder with the barbecue sauce mixture every hour. If the pork starts getting too dark cover the roasting pan with foil.

When the pork is finished, allow it to rest for at least 30 minutes. Using two forks pull the pork into thin strips in the roasting pan. Mix the pork with the juices and add more barbecue sauce, if needed.

BONUS RECIPE!

Pulled Pork Pizza

1 pizza shell

2 tbsp barbecue sauce

2 cups leftover pulled pork (pre-sauced)

1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

1/2 tsp dried oregano

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Spread barbecue sauce on the pizza shell. Top with pulled pork, mozzarella and dried oregano. Bake directly on the over rack for 12-15 minutes, or until cheese is bubbly and delicious. Feed it to a very lucky man – but be careful, he’ll probably want to marry you.

One thought on “The Best Pulled Pork in the Oven

  1. Sounds delicious! Darn we don’t have any left over prawns tonight. We’ve still got the pie…….

    Something I’ve noticed, and perhaps it is in your settings for you blog, but the type is in a lower contrast grey instead of the normal black. It is the same colour as the ‘by Alex’ in the email as well as the date, categories and URL headings. Maybe it is only my aging eyes that would notice such a thing? Cheers, Kev

Leave a Reply

