Let’s Talk About The Queen

I know that the media is really trying to make the Royal Jubilee ‘happen’. And it seems like the majority of us in Canada don’t really care.

Unless you’re THIS KID.

As your resident lady with a degree in history with a focus on British Renaissance history (that’s my official title, thankyouverymuch), I am obsessed. I dare you to tell me that the British monarchy is irrelevant. I wrote my last paper on the effects of the royal wedding on British-Canadian relations. Bring the noise, bro.

So yes, it is safe to say that I’ve been lapping up every bit of this Jubilee weekend. I want to know what the Queen is doing at all times. Was she waving? Of course she was. Did she wear a fancy hat? You’re damn right. Is Kate Middleton the coolest thing since the dawn of time? You best be believin’.

I’m gonna get a little political an y’all and say that I think the monarchy in Canada is awesome. Did you know that she is the Queen of Canada as well? That our Prime Minister is accountable to the Governor General, the Queen’s representative in Canada? I don’t know about you, but I think it’s badass that even the most powerful person in Canada can be kept in line by that stone cold fox in Buckingham Palace.

You heard me. That lady is a STONE COLD FOX. I would totally high five her.

For those of you who watched the Jubilee concert, can we discuss Elton John’s faboosh hot pink sequined jacket? And Kylie Minogue’s legs? That lady is what, 50? Get down with your bad self, Kylie.

Leave a Reply

