The Cabin: What I’m Cooking

Despite a really ugly weather forecast, Colin and I are heading to the cabin this weekend. If the forecast lies and it’s sunny, I’m going to plant my butt on the dock with the latest edition of Martha Stewart Weddings, a bottle of Pinot Grigio and not move for 48 hours. If it rains, I’m going to plant my butt on the couch with a Julia Roberts movie marathon, a bottle of Pinot Grigio and not move for 48 hours. Everybody wins!

Last weekend, I failed miserably on the whole “bringing food to the cabin” thing. Like, all I brought was a baguette, pork cutlets and arugula. I’m not kidding. Well, I might have brought bagels, but those are breakfast food and don’t count. Who eats bagels for dinner?So this weekend I’m making up for it.

I’m makingPioneer Woman’s Spicy Dr Pepper Pulled Pork. It’s freaking delicious, and really, really spicy. And delicious.

I’m also making pasta salad. I don’t know whose recipe this is, but it looks delicious and therefore I want it in my mouth.

I’m also making Pioneer Woman’s Garlic Cheese Bread. Colin goes nuts for this stuff. It is by no means healthy, and is therefore perfect cabin food. Eating lots of meat and cheese is a cabin thing, right?

I’m also bringing fruit and vegetables, for those of you who are concerned about the state of my arteries or the size of my jeans. If helps you sleep at night, I promise I’ll eat an apple and do some yoga or something.

All the cabin neighbours are going to be up this weekend, so we’re going to have a big, raucous lakefront cabin party. Unless it rains. Then I’m going to be all, “go away, I want to watch My Best Friend’s Wedding in silent, mildly drunk peace.”

I hope you all have a happy weekend. Enjoy the next few days of peace and quiet, because guess what has two thumbs and is in Vancouver next weekend?

THIS GIRL!

Leave a Reply

