Banana Bread For You!

I have been baking a lot lately. It’s one of the few productive things you can do when you’re stuck inside that isn’t cleaning. That’s why baking is awesome!

Yesterday I made the most delicious banana bread in the entire world. I love banana bread, even though I think it’s kind of weird. Bananas are like the ugly redheaded stepchild of fruit. I will admit that smoothies would be nothing without them. And I’m all like, “Imma let you finish but Banoffee pie is the best pie OF ALL TIME.” But overall, not the biggest fan of bananas. And banana bread? It’s like zucchini bread or carrot cake. I usually feel like someone’s trying to make me be healthy and I just don’t wanna eat that crap.

But this banana bread is so good. It’s totally delicious and moist and chocolatey and everything that bananas should be. So here it is! Go forth and bake, because it will make me feel like less of a sad hermit.

Banana Bread!

  • 10 tablespoons of butter (plus one tablespoon to grease the pan), softened
  • 3 large mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (use the full fat stuff. It’s necessary)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 teaspoons of granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (or chopped walnuts, pecans, bacon, whatever)

Preheat your over to 350 degrees. Grease a large loaf pan with one tablespoon of butter.

In a big bowl, squish together the butter and mashed bananas. I find it easiest to do this with a spatula at first, then switching to a whisk for maximum mixing power. Whisk in the sour cream, eggs and vanilla until combined.

If you’re particular about it, get out another bowl for the next step. If you, like me, are too lazy to care, dump your 2 cups of flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt on top of the banana mixture. Fold it all together until mixed, then fold in your chocolate chips or whatever delicious nuggets you’ve chosen. Pour the batter into the greased loaf pan and bake for 1 hour 10 minutes. It may still be jiggly (like me!) so test the center with a toothpick to make sure it’s done. If it is done, the toothpick will come out clean. If it comes out coated with batter, you are NOT DONE. Put it back in the oven for another 5 minutes.

Let the banana bread cool for 30 minutes before you try to get it out of the pan. Otherwise you might need to make banana cake balls. That’s what happens to Alex’s baking disasters (to be seen here soon, I’m sure). Take it out of the pan and let it cool a bit on the rack, but not too long because it’s totally delicious when the chocolate is still melty.

** I just remembered that I totally survived on frozen bananas dipped in chocolate when Colin and I went to Disneyland. I have to say, that is the most refreshingly inappropriate treat I have ever eaten.

Leave a Reply

